I’m an English-Australian writer, editor and PhD candidate, currently living in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne. That said, I’ve lived in the country most of my life and my heart is split between England, Wales and Gippsland in Australia. I have a Master of Letters in creative writing, a Master of Arts in ancient history, and am currently working towards a PhD in English at La Trobe University.

I’ve been writing for as long as I’ve been able to string a sentence together, but I only began submitting that writing to markets relatively recently. Up until now, I’ve been focusing on short stories, largely in the genres of science fiction and fantasy and often with a historical setting. However, I’m currently revising my first novel, which would probably be labeled literary historical fiction, and intend to concentrate on long-form writing in the future.

My writing often involves queer and neurodiverse characters—even if this is not made explicit within the text. I think the Own Voices movement is extremely important and I personally write about sexuality, gender, autism, mental health and physical disability from an own-voices perspective. However, I recognise that there are as many experiences of diversity as there are people who live under it, so I speak only for my own experience. I’m always happy to provide content warnings on my writing, so please feel free to contact me about that kind of thing!

As a reader, I enjoy most genres and styles of writing, but I am particularly drawn to nineteenth century English and French literature, as well as the classic authors and modern genre writers. Some of my favourite authors include Jane Austen, Emile Zola, Ada Cambridge, Suetonius, Aristophanes, Oscar Wilde, Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Ephiny Gale, while favourite books by other authors include Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte), Rebecca (Daphne du Maurier), The Woman in White (Wilkie Collins) and The Secret History (Donna Tartt).

While I do review books on this blog from time to time, I’m afraid I’m not accepting review requests, as my PhD reading load means that I don’t get much time to read for pleasure and my to-be-read pile increases by the month.

The header image was taken by me on the outskirts of Porthmadog, Wales.